As far back as 1969, the Government of Ghana recognized that the “Population of Ghana is the nation’s greatest resource. It is both the instrument and objective of national development. The protection and enhancement of its welfare is the Government’s first responsibility”. (Government of Ghana, 1969) Government also explicitly recognized the reciprocal relationship between population and development (i.e. population affects development even as development affects population.). In all these, the population and its characteristics are of primary importance because development is by people, for people and of people. An understanding of the population, its characteristics and dynamics, is therefore crucial for realistic development planning.

The Government of Ghana has operated the decentralized system of development since 1988 with the District Assembly, as the planning authority. The District and Municipal Assemblies are expected to initiate and coordinate the processes of planning, programming, budgeting and implementation of District plans, programmes and projects. The District and Municipal Assemblies and the various organs are expected to carry out medium and long term planning including integration of population policies and issues, as they pertain to the needs of particular Districts and communities.

The overall level of development and demographic structure of the country conceals differences between and within Regions, Districts, and Urban and Rural localities. As such, there are bound to be differences in the population and development needs and priorities between and within Districts, Urban and Rural localities.

The report deals with the Yilo Krobo Municipality. Its objective is to make available to the general public, analysis of the results of the 2010 Population and Housing Census and their full implication for policy and planning in the Municipality.

Yilo Krobo Municipality is one of the twenty-six (26) administrative districts in the Eastern Region of Ghana. It was established under Legislative Instrument No. 1427 of 19881. Formerly, it was known as Kaoga District Council which comprised Yilo Krobo, Manya Krobo and Asuogyaman Local Councils. Eventually, it was split into three distinctive administrative districts; Yilo Krobo, Manya Krobo and Asuogyaman. The District was accorded a Municipal status on the 6th of February, 2012 with the passage of Legislative Instrument (L.I.) No.20512


Date Created : 11/28/2017 12:14:01 AM