The Asikuma-Odoben-Brakwa District Assembly (AOBDA) was carved out of the Ajumako-Enyan District as a District Council in 1978.

It was also established as a District Assembly to be known as Asikuma-Odoben-Brakwa District Assembly (AOBDA) on 22nd November, 1988 by Legislative Instrument (LI) 1378.

It has jurisdiction over Thirty-six (36) Electoral Areas listed in the Instrument.

Breman Asikuma, the administrative capital is also the traditional capital of the Bremans, and is one of three Traditional Councils of the District. The other traditional councils are Odoben and Brakwa.

The District is located in the North-Central portion of the Central Region of Ghana. 
It covers an area of 884.84 square kilometers. It is located between latitude 50 51” and 50 52” North and longitude 10 50” and 10 5” West.

It is bordered on the north by Birim South District in the Eastern Region, on the south by Ajumako-Enyan-Essiam District, on the west by Assin South District and on the east by Agona East District.

The population of the district according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 112,706 with 54,293 male and 58,413 female.