The Accra Metropolitan is among the sixteen (26) Metropolitan, Municipals and Districts of the Greater Accra Region of Ghana. Accra is the Administrative capital of the metropolitan assembly. The Metro shares common boundaries with La-Dade Kotokpon Municipal from the east and Ga West Municipal, Ga Central Municipal and Ga South Municipal Assembly from the west. The Metropolitan Assembly also share common boundary with the Gulf of Guinea. The Municipality was established by Legislative Instrument (L.I) 2034.

The population of the district according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 1,665,086 with 800,935 males and 864,151 females.