The Kintampo South District is one of the thirty two (32) Municipalities and Districts within the Brong Ahafo Region of Ghana with Jema as its capital.

The District was created by the Legislative Instrument (LI) 1781 and was duly inaugurated on 24th August, 2004. and tt lies within longitudes 10 20’ West and 2010’ East and latitude 80 15’ North and 70 45’ South.

The District shares boundaries with Kintampo North Municipal to the north, to the south by Nkoranza South Municipal and Techiman Municipal, to the east by Atebubu Amantin Municipal and Pru East District and to the west by Wenchi Municipal.

The District covers an area of about 1,774.85 km2 and comprises about 122 settlements. There are other major and important towns including Amoma, Anyima, Apesika, Krabonso etc, which make up the district.

The population of the District according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 81,000 with 42,129 males 38,871 females.