The Cape Coast Metropolitan is also home to the regional capital of Central Region. The Cape Coast Metropolitan Area is one of the oldest districts in Ghana. It was raised to the status of municipality in 1987 by LI 1373 and upgrade to metropolitan status in 2007 by LI 1927.

The Metropolitan forms part of the Twenty two (22) Metropolitan, Municipalities and Districts in the Central Region of Ghana. 

The Metropolitan   is bounded on the south by the Gulf of Guinea, west by Komenda Edina Eguafo /Abrem Municipal, east by the Abura Asebu Kwamankese District and north by the Twifu Hemang Lower Denkyira District. 

The Metropolis covers an area of 122 square kilometers and is the smallest metropolis in the country. It is located on longitude 1° 15'W and latitude 5°06'N. It occupies an Area of approximately 122 square kilometres.

The Administrative capital is Cape Coast.

The population of the Metropolis according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 169,894 with 82,810 male and 87,084 female.