The Assin Central Municipal formally Assin North Municipal is among the twenty two [22] Metropolitan, Municipal and Districts of the Central Region of Ghana out of which Assin South Assembly was carved in august 2009.

It lies within Longitudes 1° 05’ East and 1° 25 West and Latitudes 6 ° 05’ North and 6° 40 South.

The Municipality shares common boundaries with Twifo Hemang Lower Denkyira on the west, Assin South District on the south, Asikuma Odoben-Brakwa and Ajumako Enyan-Esiam on the east, Upper Denkyira East Municipal on the north-west and Ashanti Region on the north.

The Municipal covers an area of about 1,500 sq. km. and comprises about 1000 settlements including Assin Foso (the Capital), Assin Nyankumasi, Assin Akonfudi, Assin Bereku, Assin Praso, Assin Kushea and others.

The population of the Municipality according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 161,341 with 80,254 male and 81,087 female.