The  Bolgatanga East District is one of the 260 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 15 of Municipalities and Districts in the Upper East Region.


The Bolgatanga East District Assembly is carved out of the Bolgatanga Municipal Assembly as one of the  38 newly created and upgraded Districts Assemblies  in 2018.


Created with Legislative Instrument (LI) 2350, the Bolgatanga East District Assembly has its capital as Zuarungu. It was inaugurated on March 15, 2018 alongside other 37 newly created districts.