Ketu South Municipal with its Administrative Capital Denu forms part of the one twenty five (25) Municipalities and Districts in the Volta Region of Ghana.

The Ketu South Municipal established by Legislative Instrument (LI) 1469 of 1989.

The Municipal shares boundaries with  Ketu North District to the north, the Republic of Togo to the east , the Gulf of Guinea to the south and to the west with Keta Municipal.

The municipality serves as the Eastern Gateway to Ghana where continuous cross-border trading activities occurs.

The population of the municipality according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 160,756 with 75,648 males and 85,108 females.