Chereponi District with its Administrative capital at Chereponi is one of the twenty eight (28) districts in the Northern region of Ghana.

It is located between latitudes 10 °   10 ¹S and 10°N eastwards and longitude 10° 10¹ N and 10° 20¹ S northwards.

It shares boundaries with the following Districts; Gushegu District to the west; Bunkpurugu Nyankpanduri District to the north, and Saboba District to the south and The Republic of Togo to the east bordered by the River Oti.

The District has a total land area of approximately 1,080 sq. km. This is merely an estimate because no geographic 

Politically, it is made up of one (1) Town and five (5) Area Councils. The Town Council is Chereponi while the Area Councils are Wenchiki, Tombo, Tambong, Nansoni and Wonjuga.

The population of the District according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 53,394 with 26,206 males and 27,188 females.