The Gushegu Municipal is one of the 260 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 16 MMDAs in the Northern Region.

Gushegu Municipal was carved out of the then Eastern Dagomba District and is located on the eastern corridor of the region.

The Administrative capital of the Municipality is Gushegu and is about 105 kilometers north-east of Tamale, the regional capital. The total land area of the District is approximately 2,674.1 square kilometers.

The Municipality shares boundaries to the east with Saboba and Chereponi Districts, Karaga District to the west, East Mamprusi Municipal to the north and Yendi Municipality and Mion District to the south.

The population of the Municipality according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 111,259 with 54,186 males and 57,073 females.