The Tano North Municipal is one of the twenty-nine (29) Administrative Municipalities and Districts in the Brong Ahafo Region. It was carved out of the Tano District in 2004 with Duayaw-Nkwanta as its Administrative Capital and was established by Legislative Instrument (L.I) 1754.


The District shares boundaries with Offinso North District to the north- east and Ahafo Ano North Municipal to the south, all in the Ashanti Region. In the east, it shares boundary with Tano South Municipal and on the west with Sunyani Municipal and Asutifi North and South Districts of the Brong-Ahafo Region.


The District lies between Latitudes 70 00' N and 70 25'N and Longitudes 20 03' W and 20 15' W. It has a total land area of 837.4 square kilometers and constitutes about 1.8 percent of the total land area of the Brong Ahafo Region.


The population of the district according to 2010 Population Housing Census stands at 79,973 with 39,593 males and 40,380 females.