Mambrugo Moagduri District with its capital Yagaba was carved from West Mamprusi and forms part of the new districts and municipalities created in the year 2012 and were inaugurated at their various locations simultaneously on the 28th June, 2012.

The President H.E. J.E.A Mills, by an Executive Instrument (E.I) created 46 new Districts. All the inaugurated and confirmed MMDAs established are operational with immediate effect hence bringing the total number of MMDAs to 216.

The district shares boundaries with Builsa District in the Upper East Region to the North , North Gonja District and Kumbungu district to the South, Sissala East and Wa East to the West and to the East with West Gonja.

The population of the district according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 46,894 with 23,439 males and 23,455 females.