Kwahu Afram Plains South District forms part of the twenty six (26) Municipalities and Districts in the Eastern Region of Ghana.

The Administrative Capital of the District Tease was carved from Kwahu North and forms part of the new districts and municipalities created in the year 2012 and were inaugurated at their various locations simultaneously on the 28th June, 2012.

The District shares boundaries with Kwahu North to the north, to the south with Fanteakwa District and upper Manya respectively, to the west with Kwahu south District and to the east with North Dayi District.

The population of the district according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 115,812 with 62,450 males and 53,362 females.