Karaga District is one of the twenty six (26) districts in the Northern Region The District is located in the North-Eastern Northern Region, roughly between latitudes 9°30’ and 10°30’ North and longitudes 0° and 45’West.

Karaga is the administrative capital.

It shares boundaries with four districts in the Northern Region, West Mamprusi District and East Mamprusi District to the North, Savelugu/Nanton Municipal to the West and Gushiegu (the mother district) to the east.

Karaga the district capital is 24km from Gushegu and 94km from Tamale, the Regional Capital.

The population of the district according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 77,706 with 37,336 males and 40,370 females.