Adaklu District Assembly was established by Legislative Instrument (L.I) 2085 of 2012. It was carved out of the former Adaklu-Anyigbe District now Agotime-Ziope District. Its Administrative Capital is at Adaklu-Waya which is geographically positioned in the centre of the District. It was inaugurated on the 28th June, 2012 as part of efforts to deepen the decentralization process and to bring development to the doorstep of the people of Adaklu and its environs.

The District is located in the southern part of the Volta Region and lies within Longitudes 06°41'1?N and 6.68361°S and Latitudes 00°20'1?W and 0.33361°E. It shares boundaries with Ho Municipal to the North, Central Tongu District to the South, Agotime-Ziope District to the East and to the West with Ho West District. The District has about 75 communities.

The District covers a total land Area of 800.82 The vast land area of the district is a great asset to the people of Adaklu especially now that demand for land in the regional capital.