The Bunkpurugu Nyankpanduri District is one of the 260 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 6 (MDAs) in the North East Region and it was established by Legislative Instrument (C.I) 1748 in August 2004

The Bunkpurugu Nyankpanduri District Assembly was carved out from the East Mamprusi Municipal and it is located to the north-eastern corner of North East Region.

The District has an estimated total land size of 1,257.1square kilometres. Bunkpurugu is the District capital and is located at the north-eastern corner of the North East Region of Ghana.  

It shares boundaries in the north with the Garu District, to the east with Togo, west with East Mamprusi Municipal and to the south with Gushiegu Municipal and Chereponi District.

The population of the District according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 122,591 with 60,240 males and 62,351 females.