Ahafo Ano North was created by an Act of Parliament in 1988 by a Legislative Instrument (LI 1402) and is located in north western part of Ashanti Region.

The district is located between latitude 60 47’N and 70 02’N and longitude 2026’W and 20 04’W with a total landmass of 593.7km2

The district capital is Tepa and distance from the district to Kumasi is 70km. The notable towns in the district are Manfo, Akwasiase, Mabang, Anyinasuso, Asuhyiae and Betiako.

The district shares boundaries with five districts, Tano North and South to the north, to the south by Atwima Mponua, and to the west by Asutifi South, and on the east by Ahafo Ano South District

The population of the district according to the 2010 Population and Housing Census stands at 94,285 with 47,956 males and 46,329 females.