The Jasikan District is one of the 254 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 25 of Municipalities and Districts in the Volta Region.

The present Jasikan District is located in the northern part of the Volta Region. The Jasikan District was established in 1989 under the L.I 1464. The Biakoye District was carved from the original Jasikan District in 2004 and has reduced its size.  The Administrative Capital of the District is Jasikan.

The District occupies a total land area of about 1,355 square kilometers. Jasikan, the District capital, lies 110kms north-east of Ho, the regional capital and 265kms from the Nation’s Capital, Accra.

It shares boundary with Kadjebi District to the north, Biakoye District in the western part, the southern part with Hohoe Municipality and in the eastern part with the Republic of Togo.

The population of the District according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 59,181 with 29,142 males and 30,039 females.