Ga South Municipal with its Administrative capital Ngleshie Amanfro forms part of the new districts and municipalities created last year by the President, J.A Kufuor were inaugurated at their various locations simultaneously on the 29th of February 2008. It was established by Legislative Instrument 2134 in July 2012

The municipality forms part of twenty six (26) Metropolis, Municipalities and Districts in the Greater Accra Region. It lies at the south western part of Accra and occupies a total land area of about 341.838 square kilometers

The Municipality shares boundaries with the Accra Metropolitan Area to the South-East, Ga Central to South-East, Akwapim South to the NorthEast, Ga West to the East, West Akim to the North, Awutu-Senya to the West, Awutu-Senya East Municipal to the south-east, Gomoa East to the south-west and the Gulf of Guinea to the south.

The population of the Municipality according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 411,377 with 201,222 males and 210,155 females.