The Sunyani West Municipal is one of the 260 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 12 of Municipalities and Districts in the Bono Region with Odomase as the administrative capital.

The Sunyani West Municipal Assembly (SWDA), which was carved out of Sunyani East District now Sunyani Municipal was established in November 2007 through the Legislative Instrument (LI) 1881 and inaugurated on 29th February 2008.

Geographically, the Municipality lies between latitudes 7º 19´N and 7º 35´N and longitudes 2º 08´ W and 2º 31´ W.

The Municipal shares boundaries with Wenchi Municipal to the north, Offinso North District to the east, Sunyani Municipal to the south, Berekum Municipal to the west, Dormaa Central Municipal, Dormaa east District to the south-west and Tain District to the north-west.

The population of the Municipality according to the 2010 Population and Housing Census stands at 85,272 with 41,388 males and 43,884 females.