The Ayawaso East  Municipal is one of the 260 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 29 MMDAs in the Greater Accra Region.

The Ayawaso East Municipal Assembly is curved out of the Accra Metropolitan Assembly as one of the 38 newly created and upgraded districts Assemblies in 2018.

Created with LI 2310, the Ayawaso  East Municipal Assembly has its capital as Nima.

Was inaugurated on March  15, 2018 alongside other 37 newly created districts.