The Awutu Senya East Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana and it forms part of the 22 MMDAs in the Central Region.

With its Administrative capital Kasoa was carved from Awutu Senya and forms part of the new Districts and Municipalities created in the year 2012 and were inaugurated at their various locations simultaneously on the 28th June, 2012.

The Awutu Senya District Assembly has been split by LI 2025 of 6th February 2012 into Awutu Senya East Municipal and the Awutu Senya West District Assemblies. The District was formerly part of the Awutu Senya District on 29 February 2008, until the eastern part of the district was split off to create Awutu Senya East District on 28 June 2012 and was later elevated to Municipal Assembly status on 15 March 2018 to become Awutu Senya East Municipal District by LI 2025; thus the remaining part has been renamed as Awutu Senya West District by LI 2024 of February, 2012.

The Awutu Senya East Municipal is located in the Eastern part of the Central Region within Latitudes 5°45 south and 6°00 north and from Longitude 0°20 west to 0°35 east and covers a total land area of about 63 sq km about 18% of the total area of the Central Region.

It shares common boundaries with Ga South Municipal (in the Greater Accra Region) at the east, Awutu Senya West District at the north and Gomoa East District at the west and south respectively.

The population of the Municipality according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 236,527 with 115,530 male and 120,997 female.