The Bono East Region is a newly region carved out of the then Brong Ahafo Region. The capital of the new region is Techiman. Through the Ministry of Regional Reorganization which was to oversee policy formulation and implementation, the final stage for the creation of the six Regions was decided through a referendum by the people within the catchment of the new region on 27 December 2018.

The referendum resulted in 450,812 casting their votes representing 85.82 per cent of 525,275 registered voters. 448,545 (99.50 per cent); voted in favour of the creation of the new region with 1,384 (0.31 per cent) voting against. A total of 883 (0.20 per cent) ballots were rejected.

Six new regions were created from the existing ten regions of Ghana. The other regions are Bono, Western North, Ahafo, Savannah, North East, and Oti Regions,

Location and size

Bono East has a population of roughly one million people and a land area of 22,952 square kilometres It has six (6) Municipal and six (6) District Assemblies. Bono Region shares a border at the north with Savannah Region, on the east by Bono Region, and on the south by Ashanti Region, on the east by the Volta Lake.


The Bono East region is part of the vegetative belt of Ghana, where the climatic condition is always conducive. The vegetation consists predominantly of forest and fertile soils. Between December and April is the dry season. Sometimes the wet season is between about July and November with an average annual rainfall of 750 to 1050 mm (30 to 40 inches). The highest temperatures are reached at the end of the dry season, the lowest in December and January. However, the hot Harmattan wind from the Sahara blows frequently between December and the beginning of February which is dry and hot. The temperatures can vary between 14 °C (59 °F) at night and 40 °C (104 °F) during the day.

Date Created : 8/15/2023 12:00:00 AM