A.A.M.A fails to elect a presiding member once again
The ninth assembly of the Atebubu-Amantin municipal assembly has for the second time run failed to elect a Presiding Member.

Date Created : 2/22/2024 12:00:00 AM : Story Author : Daniel Oduro-Stewart/

It will be recalled to the current assembly after two rounds of voting after its inauguration on Monday.

February 12, 2024 could not elect a Presiding Member thereby necessitating another meeting today in compliance with the local government act 936.

After a third round of voting involving Mr. Yahaya Dindiok and Michael Kwasi Kampatib could not produce a winner with two-thirds of votes as required, the Electoral Commission of Ghana in accordance with the ‘standing orders’ the assembly had to call for fresh nominations for the position which saw Mr. Abdul Kwame Rahman and Charles Afful Agyei filling nominations.

After the first round of the contest Mr. Charles Afful Agyei garnered 23 votes against Hon. Abdul Kwame Rahman who got 16 with 3 ballots rejected.

A second round of voting could not break the deadlock either as Mr. Afful Agyei obtained 22 votes against his contestant who got 17 with 3 rejected.

The Municipal Chief Executive Mr. Edward Owusu bemoaned the inability of the house to elect a leader and urged members to make the resolution of the stalemate a priority the next time the opportunity avails itself.