Relevant Data

Location and Size

Mpohor Wassa East District is located at the south-eastern end of the Western Region. It is bounded on the northeast and southeast by the Twifo Hemang Lower Denkyira (THLD) and Komenda Edina Eguafo Abrem (KEEA) all in the Central Region.

The district is again bounded on the west by the Wassa West District Assembly (WWDA), and in the south, by the Shama District Assembly (SDA). On the east, it shares boundaries with Ahanta West District Assembly (AWDA).

The district was carved out from Wassa Fiase Mpohor District in 1988 and occupies an area of 1880 square kilometres (464,553) of which 344 square km 85,000 hectares are used as cultivable land. The district capital is Daboase, which is 6.7 km from the Cape Coast Takoradi main road.

Topology and Drainage

Relief and Drainage The district lies within the low-lying areas of the country with most parts below 150 metres above sea level. The landscape is generally undulating with an average height of about 70 metres.

The highest elevation ranges between 150 and 200 metres above sea level. The drainage pattern of Mpohor Wassa East District is largely dendriatic. There are medium and small rivers and streams.

Most of them originate from the Akwapim ranges and flow southwards towards the coast. The main rivers are the Pra, Subri, Butre, Brempong, Suhyen, Abetumaso, Hwini and Tipae. While most of them overflow their banks in the rainy season, majority virtually dry out in the dry season leaving behind series of dry valleys and rapids.

Climate and Vegetation

Climate The district falls within the tropical climate zone. The mean annual rainfall is 1500mm and ranges from 1300 to 2000mm. The wet period in the district is between March and July while November to January is dry.

Geology & Soil

Soils, Geology and Minerals. There are four main categories of rock and soil types which underlie the district namely. Lower Birimian, Dixcove granite, Cape Coast granite and Tarkwaian.

More than half of the soil consists of Cape Coast granitic soils. The district has large deposits of gold, traces of iron and kaolin. The vegetation is tropical rainforest type.

There are two large forest reserves namely; Subri River Forest Reserve which occupies 375 square kilometres and the Pra Suhyen Forest Reserve with 204 square kilometers.

There are two small ones namely the Ben West Block Forest Reserve and Ben East Forest Reserve. These forests are the semblance of virgin forest in the district


Date Created : 11/28/2017 8:04:39 AM