The Ketu North Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 18 of Municipalities and Districts in the Volta Region.

It was carved out of the then Ketu District by a Legislative Instrument (LI 1841 of 2008) and was inaugurated on the 29th February, 2008. It has its Administrative capital at Dzodze, which lies about 80 kilometres south of Ho, the regional capital. Ketu North Municipal is located between Latitude 6o 03’N and 6o  20’N and Longitude 0o 49’E and 1o 05’E.

There are four Traditional Paramount Chiefs in the Municipality ruling from Dzodze, Penyi, Afife and Weta. These Paramount Chiefs however collaborate in the implementation of most development projects.

The Municipality shares boundaries with the Republic of Togo to the east, to the west to Akatsi North District, to the south with Ketu South Municipal.

In terms of size, it covers a total land area of 462 square kilometres

The population of the Municipality according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 114,846 with 53,932 males and 60,914 females.