The Ahafo Ano South East District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 43 of MMDAs in the Ashanti Region.

The Ahafo Ano South East District Assembly is carved out of the Ahafo Ano South District Assembly (now Ahafo Ano South District West) as one of the 38 newly created and upgraded District Assemblies in 2018.

Created with LI 2324, the Ahafo Ano South East District Assembly has its capital as Adugyama.

It was inaugurated on March 15, 2018 alongside other 37 newly created districts.   

The District  which covers a total surface area of approximately 545.16km2 representing 2.2 percent of the region’s total surface area (24,370.5km2) is located on the north-western part of the Ashanti Region and It lies in Longitude -1.87, Latitude 6.88, Altitude 267.5.

The District shares boundary in the north with Offinso North District, Ahafo Ano South West to the south, Atwima Nwabiagya North District to the east and Tano South Municipal in the Ahafo Region to west. Others are Offinso Municipal to the north-east, Atwima Nwabiagya Municipal to the south-east and Ahafo Ano North Municipal to the south-west.

The population of the District according to the 2021 Population and Housing Census, is 63,468 with males 32,071 and 31,397 females.