The Komenda Edina Eguafo Abirem (KEEA) Municipal with its Administrative Capital as Elmina is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipalities, and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana and forms part of the 22 MMDAs in the Central Region.

Perched between longitude 1o 20’ West and 1o 40’ West and latitude 5o 05’ North and 5o North 15’ North the district covers an area of 468 square kilometres (919.95 square miles).

The Municipal is bounded on the south by the Atlantic Ocean (Gulf of Guinea), the east by the Cape Coast Metropolitan, the north by the Twifo Hemang Lower Denkyira District and the west by the Mpohor District and Shama District respectively.

The population of the Municipality according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 166,017 with 80,570 male and 85,447 female.