The Shama District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana and forms part of the 14 MMDAs in the Western Region.

The District was carved out of the former Shama Ahanta East Metropolis and was established in December, 2007 by Legislative Instrument (LI 1882).The Administrative Capital of the District is Shama and it covers an area of 193.7 square kilometers.

The District is bordered to the west by the Sekondi Takoradi Metropolis, to the east by the Komenda Edina Eguafo Abrem Municipal in the Central Region, to the north by the Mpohor District and to the south by the Gulf of Guinea.

The population of the District according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 117,224

with 57,210 males and 60,014 females.