The Agona East District is one of the 261 Metrpolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies in Ghana and forms part of the twenty two (22) Metropolitan, Municipalities and Districts in the Central Region. 

Nsaba is the Administrative capital of the District and is situated within latitudes 50 30²and 50 50 N and longitudes 00 35 and 0 0.

The Agona East District Assembly (AEDA) was established through Legislative Instrument (LI) 1921. It has a total land area 324 km2.

It is bounded to the south by the Agona West Municipality and the Gomoa East District Assembly, to the north by the Birim Central Municipal and to the northeast by the West Akim Municipal, both in the Eastern Region. The eastern part of the District is bounded by the Awutu Senya West District and to the west by Asikuma Odoben Brakwa District and Ajumako Enyan Essiam Districts.

The population of the District according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 98,324 with 47,350 male and 50,974 female.