The Upper Denkyira West District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana and forms part of the 22 MMDAs in the Central Region.

The District which was carved out of the erstwhile Upper Denkyira District has its administrative capital as Diaso.

The Upper Denkyira West District lies within latitudes 5º 30’ N and 6º 02’ N of the equator and longitudes 1º W and 2º W of the Greenwich Meridian and has a total land area of 579.21 square kilometers which represents 3% of the total land area of the Central Region.

It shares common boundaries with the following districts:- Babiani Ahwiaso Bekwai Municipal to the north, Amansie West District and Amansie Central Districts to the east, Wassa Amenfi East Municipal and Amenfi West Municipal to the west, and Upper Denkyira East Municipality to the south.

The population of the District according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 91,025 with 48,137 male and 42,888 female.