The Bongo District Assembly is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 15 of Municipalities and Districts in the Upper East Region.

It was created by Legislative Instrument (LI) 1446 in 1988 with Bongo as its capital. The district lies between longitudes 0.45o W and latitude 10.50o N to 11.09 and has a total land area of 425 square kilometers.

The Bongo District shares boundaries with Burkina Faso to the north, Kassena-Nankana Municipal to the west, Bolgatanga Municipal to the south-west and Nabdam District to south-east. The District lies within the Oncho-cerciasis-freed zone.

The population of the District according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 120,254 with 56,920 males and 63,334 females.