The Kumbungu District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 16 MMDAs in the Northern Region.  

The district has a total land mass of 1,547sqkm with its administrative capital as Kumbugu.

Kumbungu District was carved from Tolon-Kumbungu District and forms part of the new Districts and Municipalities created in the year 2012 and were inaugurated at their various locations simultaneously on the 28th June with with L. I. 2062.

The Kumbungu District shares boundaries to the north with Mamprugu Moagduri District, Tolon District and North Gonja District to the west, Sagnarigu Municipal to the south and Savelugu Municipal to the east. 

The population of the District according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 110,586 with 55,291 males and 55,295 females.