The Ada West District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 29 MMDAs in the Greater Accra Region and it is situated in the south-eastern corner of Ghana.

It is carved out of the former Dangme East in the year 2012 and it is established by the Legislative Instrument 2129 of 2012 with its administrative capital as Sege and it lies about 80 Kilometres  from Accra on the Accra-Aflao road.

The District lies between Latitudes 5°45’S and 6°00’N and Longitude 0°20’W and 0°35’E. The total land area of the District is approximately 323.72 Square km, which is about 10% of the total land size of the Greater Accra Region.

The District shares common boundary with the North Tongu District of the Volta Region to the north, Ada East District to the east, Ningo Prampram District to the west and to the south by the Gulf of Guinea, which stretches over 45 Kilometres (27.9 miles) from Wokumagbe through Goi to Kablevu.

The population of the District according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 76,087 with 37,132 males and  38,955 females.