The Ashaiman Municipal is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies(MMDAs) in Ghana, and forms part of the 29 MMDAs in the Greater Accra Region

Ashaiman Municipal with its administrative capital Ashaiman and It was carved out of the then Tema Municipality, now Tema Metropolitan Authority, as one of the newly created Districts in 2008 by LI 1889 and Local Government Act of 1993 (Act 462).


Ashaiman Municipality is located about 4km to the North of Tema and about 30km from Accra, the capital of Ghana. Whiles Tema is situated on the Greenwich Meridian on the Longitude 0 0, Ashaiman falls within Latitude 5° 42’ North and Longitude 0° 01’west.

The Municipality shares boundaries with Tema Metropolitan to the east, Ledzokuku Municipal to the south, Adentan Municipal to the north and to the west with La Nkwantanang Madina Municipal.


The population of the Municipality according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 208,060

with 103,410 males and 104,650 females.