Kwahu Afram Plains North District (formally Kwahu North District) is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and Districts Assemblies in Ghana and forms part of the 33 Municipalities and Districts in Eastern Region.

Located in the northern - most part of the Eastern Region, the District covers an area of 2570 sq km and is the largest District in the Eastern Region in terms of landmass and has its capital as Donkorkrom.

There are two main entrances into the Kwahu Afram Plains North District by road. Namely through Nkawkaw-Mpraeso-Bepong-Kwahu Tafo and Adawso from where the three kilometer wide Afram River is crossed to Ekye-Amanfrom by ferry operated by the Volta. Lake Transport Company (VLTC).

The second entrance is through Kpandu-Torkor in the Volta Region from where the Volta Lake is again crossed by one-and-a-half-hour portion journey to clock at Agordeke from where one can travel by road through Amankwaa and Adeemmra to the District capital.

There is another minor entrance into the district from Atebubu in the Bono East Region into Ntonaboma, which was ceded out of the Atebubu Amanten Municipal and put administratively, under the Kwahu Afram Plains North District.

The Kwahu Afram Plains North District shares boundaries to the south with Kwahu South District, to the east with the Volta River, to the west with two Districts in the Ashanti Region precisely the Sekyere East and Asante Akim Districts to the north with two districts in the Bono East Region namely Sene East District and Atebubu Amanten Municipal.

The population of the district according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 66,555 with 35,567 males and 30,988 females.