Upper Manya Krobo District Assembly is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies in Ghana and forms part of the thirty three (33) Municipalities and Districts in the Eastern Region.

It covers a total estimated surface area of 894 square kilometers of the total area of Eastern Region and Asesewa is its District capital.

The District shares boundaries with Lower Manya Krobo Municipal to the south and Fanteakwa North District to the west respectively, to the east with Asuogyaman District, and to the north with Kwahu Afram Plains South District Assembly.

The population of the District according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 70,676 with 35,620 males and 35,056 females.