Ayensuano District is one of the 261 Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies in Ghana and forms part of the thirty three 33 Municipalities and Districts in the Eastern Region of Ghana. 

The District lies within Latitudes 50 451N and 60 5 1 N and Longitudes 00 151W and 00 45W and it is located in the southern part of the Eastern Region with a total land area of 482 km2.

With its administrative capital
Coaltar, Ayensuano was carved from Suhum-Kraboa-Coaltar (Suhum Municipal) and forms part of the new Districts and Municipalities created in the year 2012 and were inaugurated at their various locations simultaneously on the 28th June, 2012 by Legislative Instrument Number 2052.

It shares boundaries with the mother District Suhum Municipality to the north; Nsawam Adoagyiri Municipality to the south; Akwapem South District to the east and Upper West Akim District and West Akim Municipality to the west.

The population of the District according to 2021 population and housing census stands at 94,594 with 47,161 males and 47,433 females.