Administration Structure

Political and Administrative Structure

As in the other regions in Ghana, the Volta Region has a decentralized political and administrative system. It is divided into 18 administrative Municipal/District Assemblies headed by Municipal/District Chief Executives.

Each Municipal/District Assembly has responsibility for the overall development of the area under its jurisdiction. The Municipal/District Chief Executives are also responsible to the President through the Regional Minister who is the political head of the region. Administratively, the Municipal/District Assemblies are composed of zonal, urban, town and area councils.

The lowest level sub-structures are the unit committees. The apex of the decentralized administrative system is the Regional Coordinating Council (RCC) and the District Assembly. The RCC comprises the Regional Minister, his Deputy, representatives of the Regional House of Chiefs, the District Chief Executives of the region, Presiding Members, and representatives of the various decentralized ministries, departments and agencies (MDAs). 

Date Created : 12/14/2017 5:00:22 AM