Home  |  All Districts  |  About Us  |  Contact Us  |  Mail  |   |    |    |  Admin  |  Logout
districts in region
district related
news & current affairs
other links
related websites
Hon. Peter Anaafi

There are 30 administrative Metropolitan ,Municipals and Districts in the Ashanti Region including the Kumasi metropolis. The region also has 39 constituencies and 3,667 electoral areas, the highest in the country. A Member of Parliament represents each of the 39 constituencies at the nation’s 230- member legislature.

The Regional Minister is the political Head of the region, and the Chairman of the Regional Co-ordinating Council. Other members of the Regional Co-ordinating Council include the Regional Co-ordinating Director (Secretary), all the 27 Metropolitan ,Municipal and District Chief Executives and Presiding members, as well as two representatives from the Ashanti Regional House of Chiefs. All Regional heads of department are ex-officio members of the Regional Co-ordinating Council.

The Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies are headed by Metropolitan ,Municipal and District Chief Executives. They are nominated by the President of the Republic and approved by two-thirds majority of the respective Metropolitan ,Municipal and District Chief Executives. The Chief Executives, like the Regional Minister, are assisted by District Co-ordinating Directors.

For effective administration, the Kumasi Metropolitan Assembly (KMA) has been sub-divided into four sub-metros, namely Asokwa, Subin, Bantama and Manhyia.


 view links:

 Also in this region
© 2006. A Public - Private Partnership Programme between Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development and Maks Publications & Media Services