Home  |  All Districts  |  About Us  |  Contact Us  |  Mail  |   |    |    |  Admin  |  Logout
district related
news & current affairs
other links
related websites

As part of the websites mandate to create awareness,educate and make the various components of local governance in Ghana, especially the Assembly Members,more accessible, this link has been created to present a list of all Assembly Members in Ghana as captured by the electoral commission of Ghana as at 2006.

Most Ghanaians can readily identify with names of popular politicians but give very little or no attention to politicians who are directly linked and closer to them.

These politicians are the district chief executives and assemblymembers. The political-administrative head in each district is the district chief executive – similar to an executive mayor. The district chief executive is first nominated by the President of the nation and must gain the approval of two-thirds of the district assembly political caucus(assembly members).
The district chief executive works with a district coordinating director, similar in role to the town clerk as head of paid service. The MMDCE is responsible for the performance of the executive and administrative functions of the district assembly. He or she is also the chief representative of the central government in the district.

The next political head is the Presiding Member of the district assembly – the chairperson – is elected by the district assembly and must command a two-thirds majority in order to take office. However it must be noted that MPs another set of political heads representing constituencies in each district are non-voting members of an assembly.

All elected assembly members represent single member wards. The district assembly is required to meet at least three times each year. It is led by an executive committee comprising not more than one-third of all assembly members. The executive committee is elected by the assembly in full session. The presiding member is barred from being a member of the executive committee.

The district chief executive chairs the executive committee, and the executive committee normally has a number of sub-committees. The sub-committees deliberate over issues and make recommendations to the executive committee. The executive in turn reports to the district assembly in full session.

Apart from the executive committee there are five mandatory subcommittees: development planning, social services, works, justice and security, and finance and administration.

All assemblymember are elected by their communities.With the exception of the presiding member, all district assembly members must sit on at least one sub-committee. The assemblies have full discretion to establish further committees as they see fit. They are also empowered to establish joint committees with one another for any project in which they hold a joint interest. Such joint committees must report to the executive committees of the districts involved.
The district chief executives (DCE) are appointed for terms of four years, and renumerated out of the national consolidated fund. The pay received by assembly members is determined by each district assembly and paid out of its own funds.

Assembly men and women play a significant role in the socio-economic development of our communities. They spearhead development projects such as drainage system, rural, urban electrification among others.

This page has been carefully planned to help locate assembly men and women and their respective electoral areas as well as the districts they belong to.

Just click on the region of your interest on the right side of this page to view the various districts, assembly men and women and the electoral areas under their jurisdiction.
 view links:
© 2006. A Public - Private Partnership Programme between Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development and Maks Publications & Media Services