Home  |  All Districts  |  About Us  |  Contact Us  |  Mail  |   |    |    |  Admin  |  Logout
other districts in region
district related
news & current affairs
other links
related websites


Governance Structure
By law, the Jasikan District Assembly, established by Legislative Instrument 1464, constitutes the highest political and administrative authority in the district (Local Government Act, 1993, Act 462). It is constituted by 48 elected members, 21 government appointees, two members of Parliament representing the two constituencies, and the District Chief Executive.  The District Assembly ensures the overall development of its territorial jurisdiction, promotes and supports productive activity and social development and initiates programmes for the development of basic infrastructure. It is also charged with the task of programme formulation, budget preparation and promotion of the development activities within the district.

An Executive Committee chaired by the District Chief Executive (DCE) performs the day-to-day executive and administrative functions of the Assembly. The Executive Committee operates through five statutory sub-committees which help the Assembly in various decision-making processes. They are Development Planning, Works, Finance and Administration, Justice and Security, and Social Services.

Other subsidiary committees found in the Jasikan District Assembly include: Environmental Management, Disaster Management, District Water and Sanitation, Statutory Planning, Education Oversight, District Security Committee, and Public Relations and Complaints Apart from these major sections of the administration, the Assembly has the following decentralised departments: Education, Youth and Sports, District Health, Agriculture, Physical Planning, Natural Resources Conservation, Forestry, Game and Wildlife, Social Welfare and Community Development, Finance, and Works.  The District Chief Executive (DCE) is the political head while the District Coordinating Director (DCD) heads the Civil Service at the district level. The Assembly receives support from central government through the District Assemblies Common fund (DACF).

 view links:

Relevant District Data

 Also in this district
© 2006. A Public - Private Partnership Programme between Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development and Maks Publications & Media Services