Home  |  All Districts  |  About Us  |  Contact Us  |  Mail  |   |    |    |  Admin  |  Logout
other districts in region
district related
news & current affairs
other links
related websites
Hon. Anthony E. Aggrey
Wassa East

Wassa East (formerly Mpohor Wassa East) District is located at the south-eastern end of the Western Region. It is bounded on the northeast and southeast by the Twifo Hemang Lower Denkyira (THLD) and Komenda Edina Eguafo Abrem Municipal all in the Central Region.

The District is again bounded on the west by the Amenfi West District Assembly, and in the south by the Shama District Assembly (SDA). On the east, it shares boundaries with Ahanta West District Assembly (AWDA).

The District was carved out from Wassa Fiase Mpohor District in 1988 and occupies an area of 1880 square kilometres (464,553) of which 344 square km 85,000 hectares are used as cultivable land. The District capital is Daboase, which is 6.7 km from the Cape Coast Takoradi main road.

 news in this district

 view links:

Relevant District Data

 Also in this district
© 2006. A Public - Private Partnership Programme between Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development and Maks Publications & Media Services