Home  |  All Districts  |  About Us  |  Contact Us  |  Mail  |   |    |    |  Admin  |  Logout
other districts in region
district related
news & current affairs
other links
related websites
Afram Plains North

Afram Plains North District  (formally Kwahu North District) is located in the Northern - most part of the Eastern Region. It covers an area of 5,040 sq km and is the largest District in the Eastern Region in terms of landmass. The Afram Plains North shares boundaries to the south with Kwahu South District, to the east with the Volta River, to the west with two Districts in the Ashanti Region precisely the Sekyere-East and Asante-Akim Districts to the north with two districts in the Brong Ahafo Region namely Sene and Atebubu.

There are two main entrances into the Afram Plains North by road. Namely through Nkawkaw-Mpraeso-Bepong-Kwahu Tafo and Adawso from where the three kilometer wide Afram River is crossed to Ekye-Amanfrom by ferry operated by the Volta. Lake Transport Company (VLTC). The second entrance is through Kpandu-Torkor in the Volta Region from where the Volta Lake is again crossed by one-and-a-half-hour portion journey to clock at Agordeke from where one can travel by road through. Amankwaa and Adeemmra to the District capital. Donkorkrom, is the District capital.

There is another minor entrance into the district from Atebubu in the Brong Ahafo Region into Ntonaboma, which was ceded out of the Atebubu District and put administratively, under the Afram Plains North.

 news in this district

 view links:

Relevant District Data

 Also in this district
© 2006. A Public - Private Partnership Programme between Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development and Maks Publications & Media Services