Political Administration

Twifo Hemang Lower Denkyira District has one (1) constituency, seventeen (17) electoral areas and three (3) area councils. In all, there are twenty five (25) Assembly members who are made up of seventeen (17) elected members and eight (8) appointees. There is also a Member of Parliament who is an ex-officio member of the District Assembly with no voting right.

The Assembly is vested with legislative, deliberative and executive functions within the district. There is a Presiding Member who is elected from among the Assembly members and chairs all Assembly meetings as well as Public Relations and Complaints Committee (PRCC) meetings The Assembly has five statutory sub-committees namely, Justice and Security; Economic; Planning; Works; Finance and Administration and; Social Services.

There is an Executive Committee which reviews the work of the sub-committees before the General Assembly meeting. The Executive Committee is made up of the District Chief Executive and the chairpersons of the various sub-committees.

Date Created : 11/23/2017 3:07:38 AM