Upper East


Map is not available

Bongo District is one of the Thirteen (13) Municipals and Districts in the Upper East Region, with Bongo  as its district capital. The District was established by Legislative Instrument (L.I) 1446.

It shares boundaries with Burkina Faso to the North, Kassena-Nankana East District to the West, Bolgatanga Municipal to the South West and Nabdam District to the South East.

The population of the municipality according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 84,545 with 40,084 males and 44,461 females.