Upper East

Bolgatanga Municipal

Map is not available

The Bolgatanga Municipal is the home of the Upper East Regional capital. The Municipality forms part of the Thirteen (13) Districts and Municipals in the Region. This, of course, makes it the largest urban centre in the Region.  

The Municipality shares boundaries with Bongo District to the North, to the East with Nabdam District, to the South with Talensi District and to the West with Kassena Nankana East District. The Municipality was established by Legislative Instrument (L.I)  
1797 and its capital  is Bolgatanga

The population of the municipality according to 2010 population and housing census stands at 131,550 with 62,783 males and 68,767 females.